Fail to Film..

Posted: 14 September, 2009 by kinz in Gadget Related, Random Snapshots
Tags: , ,

My dad recently gave me his ancient Minolta Hi-Matic AF2 from erm say 1970’s? This is one camera which means a lot to us. It was like the only camera of the house (compared to now, each of us has our own one..) No wait if you include the ones in our phone, each of has like erm 2? Yea, talk about the new era.


This was captured with my Canon S3is donkey years ago. See the difference in photography wise? I bet I was better than I am now..


This is no film SLR, it is a range finder with a 38mm lens f/2.8. Yea the f/2.8 really got my attention. Oh by the way, to those non camera geeks, this camera has no zoom. Enough said.. There isn’t any options for the exposure, it is only based on the film ISO. And there’s a little dial on the front for you to adjust the ISO speed ratings according to the film.

This camera holds much sentimental value  to us. Why? One very good reason is that this camera snaps a whole album or two of naked photos of me while I was still a baby. In the bath tub that is. Once awhile, my parents do take it out and show me how much of a pig I looked like. No wait, I looked more like the Michelin man..


And that’s for those who doesn’t know who is the Michelin man..

So yea, the day my dad gave it to me, I was so damn eager to pop my first roll of film (after erm standard 5 – my last roll of film during school trip to the zoo)..

Went over to KK Mart and 7eleven at 1am, I was too damn shy to ask if they do sell film, I wouldn’t be surprised if they were to offer me SD or Compact Flash cards instead. So I choose to walk out empty handed after looking around the store.

Went over to Ss2 the next afternoon, bought  two rolls of film and yea I tried. I shot with the Fujifilm Superia 200 12’s. Costs me RM7.50 (they were fresh films by the way)

So here are the pictures. Let me show you the two look-able photos.


The Tropics Office Suites next to Tropicana City Mall..


Now that I look at them again, I really love the colour  hues and saturation of it. It has a bit of the vintage look. I wonder what will happen if I use expired films instead.

Okie now here’s the nightmare… So when I bought the film, I was so damn excited, I forgotten about the minimum focus distance. I am so used to digital SLR when it is out of focus, the camera will either continue searching to focus or the shutter just won’t move a dot, if you click on the shutter release. So yea.. There I go, shooting happily and prepared for the worst outcome…


I get shots like these.. Damn.. Although I was already expecting for the worst, so that I wouldn’t end up full with disappointment, I was still damn disappointed, because they were all out of focus which no way I would have thought of that.. Geeshh.. I was literally upset that I spent almost RM30 on two rolls of films which costs me RM15 and RM13 to convert a roll of film to digital format. Arrgh geesh..


Ahhh.. Look at these.. -__-” What in the world is this? Sighh.. Oh well as a consolation to myself, the RM30 is treated a diagnose fee, at least now I know that this camera which has been abandoned for 6 years or more is still working flawlessly.

On that day itself, (Friday) when I saw the photos out of focus, I said that it would be the last day for me to shoot in film. Well after today, when I saw the pictures again, I really like the aesthetic feel and colors. Now I think I should find some free time after my test or during the long Raya break to do a read up the 36 pages manual I downloaded off the internet.

By the way, if any of you are selling 35 mm expired films (preferably in 24’s and 12’s) please do drop me your email address at my comment. I am interested to get some…

Kicking back old skool for awhile.. For now, I FAIL in film.

Alright that’s all for now.. Cheers and bye bye!

Comments
  1. TOM says:

    good stories , your blog very nice

  2. NU says:

    Hey! I have exactly the same camera (Minolta Hi-Matic AF2). It’s perfect for street photography. 😀 You can buy (expired) films from Lomography: http://shop.lomography.com/films

    Keep up the good work! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

