Phonography..

Posted: 18 September, 2007 by kinz in Gadget Related

WARNING!
If you find gadgets are boring and you have no interest in them.. Don’t read the following.. It may waste your time..

I just found another reason to stick with my old candy bar smartphone rather than the chunky and swiftly fast pocket pc.. Well, the reason is… I’ve got Windows Mobile 6 running on the candy bar.. Woohoo.. When I first got it in January 2005 (SPM just passed in a blink of eye) it was running on Windows Mobile 2003Second Edition.. This lil dude was paid with cold hard cash I earned during the end of Form 4 school holidays… I paid a price of Rm1888. for it.. Got it on the first week since it’s launch date.. I was really proud, being the only Windows Mobile dude around.. Especially in school.. Hahaha.. Lotsa memories with this dude in school back then..


The O2 Xphone II running on Windows Mobile 6! (notice some distortion on the XDA IIi? hmmm I was using the Macro filter..)

After a year having it, I flashed it’s firmware (not the legal one) to obtain the Windows Media Player 10 instead of 9.. In less than 6 months later, I earned some cash again, and got myself the O2 XDA IIi.. What attracted me to it was it’s speedy processor whopping at 520Mhz.. (Damn right it was faster than my PC in the early days..) Tweaked it and stuff, damn I enjoy Windows Mobile Devices..

Not too long ago, I found another (non legal) upgrade for the lil candy bar Xphone II.. It upgrades the Operating System from the Windows Mobile 2003 to the Windows Mobile 5.0.. Geesh.. That was good enough to ditch the Pocket PC, even if the Pocket PC has WiFi.. Now, I got a Windows Mobile 6 running on it.. Damn.. I’m speechless and I left the Pocket PC in the shadows.. Now the Pocket PC only do Photo Viewing and slight editing direct from the camera and Internet surfing.. Phone and organizer? The Xphone II is good enough to handle it..


Still shadowing the XDA IIi..

What pisses me off is that, this (once) sexy lil fella, is only worth around RM400 for second hand value.. Two and a half years ago, I paid freaking RM1888 for it.. Dangggg… Anyway, I didn’t regret for paying it at that price.. C’mon.. How many phones out there lasted for 3 different operating systems? The Wm2003,WM5 and Wm6? Even your PC died after switching from Windows 98 to Windows ME.. Did it last till you switch to Windows XP or Windows Vista? Hah! With Windows Mobile 6 on this fella, it is a freaking awesome phone to me.. It definitely topped the HTC StarTrek/Dopod S300 and HTC Breeze/Dopod 595.. It is equivalent to the HTC Tornado/Dopod 577w/O2 Orion just that it is lack of WiFi..

Anyway.. Enough of Windows Mobile devices, I’m sure some of you guys are bored of it.. Today, a long lost distributer came in to the shop and asked whether if we are interested to carry the iPhone… Don’t be happy just yet.. It is not officially distributed by Apple Malaysia.. Therefore warranty is not provided.. Well we decided not to carry it, firstly because of the warranty, and secondly the price was a major rip off.. He was offering RM3600 per unit.. Nope that’s not the retail, that’s the freaking cost… He also mentioned that there is a shop in LowYat Plaza sold it at a freaking price tag of Rm4999… Damnnn… There are actually people who are willing to pay that much for a unit which is not covered by the warranty.. Paying RM4999 just to be glamorous? Would you?

So I was playing around with it.. And yea, it works pretty fine after being unlocked by some genius in the United States.. I really love the way of resizing pictures.. It’s great, twitching two of your fingers on the screen.. DAMNN!!!! It’s impressive! Google earth is pretty neat too, but it’s abit slow, I guess it’s due to the WiFi connection.. The programs and interface is very responsive too.. However, the “cracked” or “unlocked” version will not support Maxis 3G.. Hahaha.. Too bad.. And the Camera is pretty sluggish.. I would say it’s 2Megapixel camera doesn’t really looked like it is 2Megapixels (well maybe the size of the picture IS 2Megapixels but the quality? bleeerrgggh…).. Kinda slow though.. Well, I might be wrong, as I didn’t upload the pictures onto the PC, but for 2Megapixels, it should look better on it’s own screen itself.. So the question is.. Would you pay Rm4999 for an 8Gb iPhone no warranty iPhone? I’ll just wait till it reaches our shore…

Comments
  1. ea says:

    Yeah, I’ll wait for the iPhone to officially reach our shores too. And wait for the generation 2. And iPod touch g2. ;P Hahahahah

  2. kinz says:

    Yeaman.. Wait… Patience is a virtue! Hahahah.. Touch won’t be here so soon I think.. The Ipod Classic and Ipod Nano 3rd Gen is already in stores.. or at least supposed to be in stores..

  3. kinz says:

    Alerr.. Dun lidat la.. Ehh why the distortion so kaooo wan? and I thought its only on the edges?

  4. ea says:

    Hahaha. The distortion damn power la. Can make your PDA look like a bowl. And BTW I ordered the Raynox Macro adapter already. Not too sure when they’re shipping it. And also I joined (finally) the mybloglog thingamabob.

  5. kinz says:

    Bloody mangkuk! Good shit bro.. When it arrives.. Butterfly farm/park/parm/fark we go!! Ehhh.. I bet u never order the lens cap for me.. Loke chat (67) milimeter…

  6. pat says:

    you did just the header or everything? Hehe..nice one..way much better than the previous one. =)

  7. kinz says:

    Just the header la.. I dunno how to do HTML coding la.. Damn n00b.. Hehehehe..

  8. div says:

    nike, check it out more here!

    http://TheShox.com

  9. kinz says:

    HAHA NICE TRY!!
    GO TO HELL! FUCKING BOOTLEGS!

    WTF KINDA NAME HAVE YOU GIVEN TO THESE KICKS?!
    SBTG = SEA ROVER?!
    PIGEONS = BIRD OF PEACE?! MANU GINOBILI = BILL!??! HAHA! VERY FUNNY!
    UNKLES = CARTOON!? JEDI = STARWARS?!

    HIGH HAIR IS NOT GOLF! AVENGERS ARE NOT REVENGE! MELVINS ARE NOT DEATH’S HEAD!!

    GET THE FUCK OFF YOU FOOL!!

Leave a Reply

